Ocarina of Time

Today I finished playing Ocarina of Time on the Wii Virtual Console. We don’t have a “classic controller” but the GameCube control was more than apt. This is still an excellent game. The replay value is amazing, which I think is a good criteria.

The cons of the game are pretty minimal. I tend to ignore things like dated graphics and sound – they get the job done here so they don’t distract. Controls are good. The challenge is good. I’ve played through maybe twice before, and I still died twice (stupid Shadow Link).

I love the openness of the gameplay. Once you finish the first level – the Deku Tree – you get a huge area to explore and play in. You have missions to complete, new weapons to unlock, money to collect – wait. That sounds like Grand Theft Auto. Yes, I’m comparing the two. Think on it. One is a far more massive game, but there’s a similarity. There is, I tell you!

What I love about OoT: The story. It’s fairly good. Zelda nerds place it first in the Zelda timeline for the games. I love the weapons – to hookshot around Kakariko village is very fun. The sidequests. Not all are amazing, but they’re all a nice distraction from the main game. The game itself. Is fun. Some games I’ve replayed – started to – and quit because playing them seemed like work. The sequel, Majora’s Mask, falls into that category for me. Twilight Princess somewhat does as well, but only as I’ve not had a long period between plays.

One little thing I really love about this (and most Zeldas) is the save function. Especially with this game. From the start menu, you press B. You press A. You’re saved. Considered the limit curve to infinity amount of times you go into the start menu, you save more times on accident than any other reason. It just happens. I find special save points obnoxious. While you don’t end up “exactly” where you saved, it’s nice to save anywhere.

Still, I’d love to be able to save anywhere and start anywhere. Even as a battle begins.

Anyway. That’s my love letter to one of the best video games I’ve ever played. Love it.

Leave a comment